Monday, September 26, 2011

Freddy's frozen custard, gluten free

Here is a letter I received from Freddy's Frozen Custard about the gluten in their food.  You can see they are trying.  Sorry to those of you that want fries.  I appreciate their trying for us, hopefully it will continue to get better.


Our custard is gluten-free, but of course you have to be careful with toppings.  Our Hot Fudge, Caramel, Butterscotch, Marshmallow, peanut butter, banana, cherry, and pineapple toppings are gluten-free.  Other gluten-free topping options include Butterfinger, M&M, Reeses and Reeses Pieces, and nuts.

Our steakburgers and hot dogs contain no fillers, and are completely gluten-free.  You can order these items wrapped in lettuce, or on a bed of lettuce for a salad (this isn’t necessarily on the menu, but can be prepared in any of our restaurants.)  Also, our Freddy’s Seasoning is gluten-free, so you don’t have to worry about what we’re using to season our steakburgers, hot dogs, and fries.  Our Gehl’s cheese sauce is gluten-free.  Our fries are gluten-free (the coating is rice flour), however they are fried in the same fryer as chicken strips and onion rings, so if you cannot tolerate even particles of gluten, you would want to avoid our fries.  Along those same lines, I should warn you that our hot dogs are warmed on the same grill as our buns, so there is a chance that particles of buns could come into contact with our hot dogs.  However, if you ask your server to wipe the grill clean of bread crumbs prior to warming your hot dog, they will do so!  Our chili’s current recipe contains oats and modified food starch, but we are working with our recipe to eliminate the gluten in the chili.  Our grilled chicken has modified food starch in the seasonings, so you would want to avoid it at this time (we are constantly working with our food vendors to re-work recipes to make them allergen-free).  Also make sure you pass on our veggieburger, as there is gluten in the ingredient list.

Coming soon:  Baked Lays.  The plain Baked Lays are labeled gluten-free, but the barbeque, which we will also carry, does contain gluten.

I hope this information will make it possible for you to enjoy a Freddy’s experience very soon!  At a minimum, you can get DESSERT at Freddy’s!

Please contact me if you have any other questions or ideas you think would work in our restaurants to serve the growing gluten-free population.


Val Cowan


  1. Thanks! Henry is always begging to go to FFC and we never can because Mommy can't eat there. I guess now we can!

  2. Cat, I am stoked you can go there now. It's pretty darn good.

  3. We want FRIES! This is the same problem everywhere in town!! The fries are fine until soaked in the cross-contaminated gluten of other foods that also use that fryer! Can't 1 fryer be totally dedicated to fries & fries ONLY so that Celiacs may once again enjoy an order of warm fries?!

    We refuse to go places my daughter cannot eat the things we can (FRIES) because it's literally torture for her to watch us have them knowing she cannot!! Why would we put her through that?! We used to take our family of 5 (+ their friends) there at least twice a month and cannot / will not due to this shared fryer issue!

    It seems easy enough to fix and would only complement all the other applaudable efforts you've made to respect this food allergy.

    Please help.

  4. There are a few places in town with dedicated fryers.

    Five Guys Burgers and fries
    Red Robin (without the seasoning)
    Ted's (Although I think they are all gone now)

    1. Res Robin.also has gluten free buns and will bring.the food out seperate so it does not.cross contaminate with the other food!! Our favorite place right now. If they can have.a.seperate fryer and gluten free buns then why doesn't Freddy's try??

  5. I've never been to Freddy's before but think I might give them a try now!

  6. I work at a Freddy's and thought it would be important to know that most of the nuts are fried as well. If you ask they will get you some fresh from the back though.